Pocket Scroll?

First of all, a pocket scroll is not a thing that ever existed. I mean, I imagine someone could have easily taken a piece of papyrus or parchment, written something on it (Tityre, tu patulae recubans sub tegmine fagi), rolled it up, and shoved it in the sinus of his toga.  But as something at large that many people carried with them, as something that had lots of real content, the pocket scroll never existed.

The fact that a scroll is much harder to produce in a useful, small size is, I understand, one of the reasons people developed the codex, the book as we know it, with the pages all bound along one edge.  You can take a selection of sayings of your favourite prophet, or a few epigrams, or what have you, copy them out into a codex, and then take the codex with you, with the materials close at hand and easy to access.

When I was telling this to a friend, she informed me that “Pocket Scroll” would be a good name for a blog.

So, now that I have a new blog, why not?

However, “pocket” implies easily portable and readable and, I reckon, brief.  So, unlike on my previous blog, where some posts were quite long, I shall endeavour to write posts that are of a more manageable size, little nuggets of things out of my brain for you take with you once you tear yourself away from your computer and get on with life.

One thought on “Pocket Scroll?

Leave a Reply

